December 04, 2012

Mt Ainslie Run Up Tuesday 4 December 2012

The annual Trevor Jacobs Mt Ainslie Run Up Christmas Handicap was held on Tuesday 4 th December.

The event started  from Remembrance Park across Treloar Cres from the War Memorial.

Rad Leovic, who does 25 mins at age 85, was front marker starting at 12.45pm.

It is free. Newcomers are welcome but will not be eligible for the prizes.

Runners arrived early  to get their  names ticked off on the handicap start list. 

There was a special presentation to Trevor Jacobs (aka Gramps) as it was his 100th Mt Ainslie Run Up.  He ran up to the top carrying a bottle of wine for each of the male and female winners. The male winner was Andrew Sutcliffe, the female winner was Caroline Campbell, who I think was the only female runner today.  Trevor Jacobs won the deep space marathon this year and is a regular at this run.  Adrian Sheppard, another regular asked for a tougher handicap on the interests of fairness to others.  Martin Dent also entered the run, and was the backmarker.  There were over 25 runners today, on a very windy course, and that made it a little cooler for running.  Thane Siharaff crossed the line first, but was declared ineligible because of insufficient runs during the year, his friend, John Dimitriou finished about 6th place after starting off 6 minutes, I think. 

Andrew Sutcliffe was declared the winner, he ran in a top, to protect himself from the weather. 

Nick Blackaby took home a Christmas pudding as a prize for being given a tough handicap.

 Rad's time was 25:12, and Nick's time was 25:10.

Peter Burke, Craig Wurtz, Michael Brown, Paul Veldkamp, Giles Lamb, Tony Beasley, also competed amongst the field.

Geoff Monro made an announcement about the South Canberra Tuggeraniong Turkey run to be held on 22 nd December over 4km  in Bugden Avenue.

Refer another blog on this posting.


Post a Comment

<< Home