June 12, 2013

Sri Chinmoy Half-Marathon, 5 Mile or 2 Mile race 10 th June 2013

A record field of 237 runners lined up for either the Sri Chinmoy Half-Marathon, 5 Mile or 2 Mile race around a scenic one-mile loop in Telopea Park this Queens Birthday Holiday, Monday 10 June.
A cool morning greeted helpers and runners alike, and the temperatures never seemed to rise throughout – some runners were seen adding layers of clothing as the run progressed, rather than the other way around!
The loop course allows for all runners in the three races – fast and slow, young and older alike – to run together, building a good sense of camaraderie from beginning to end.
Jodie Barker – one of the most consistent performers on the Canberra running scene for over a decade – won the Women's Half-Marathon this morning with another excellent run of 1:29:45; from Sophy Sirr (1:34:14), Amy Currie (1:38:05) and Kerry Smith (1:39:17).
Robyn McLelland again ran out the winner of the Women 50-59 in 2:02:12; Julie Bell took the Women 60-69 in 2:08:25; and Canberra running legend, Caroline Campbell won the Women 70 and Over category with an inspirational 2:09:57.
Craig Benson ran a consistent race, leading from the start and never being threatened, to win the Half-Marathon for the men in 1:17:19, from Colin Tricker (1:18:26) and Anthony Kennedy (1:21:16).
David Clarke took out the Men 50-59 race in 1:37:47, holding off a faster-finishing Keith Bennett in 1:38:16. Alan Gowen ran a splendid race in the Men 60-69 to win in 1:45:10, not far ahead of Peter Ralston's 1:48:43. The Over 70's Men category was taken out by stalwart Canberra runner, Lachlan Lewis in 3:10:03.
Matthew Zeitlhofer was pushed by Iain Addinell in the middle stages of the men's 5 mile race, but drew away over the final laps to win in 31:27, from Iain's 31:48, with Simeon Hearnshaw completing the podium with 32:11.
In the Men 50-59, Michael Phillips led the way with 33:35, from Stewart Jones (36:14) who only caught and passed Kim Houghton (36:17) in the dying stages of the run. Graham Burke won the Men 60-69 in 42:19.
The women's 5 mile race was led from the front and won by Kym Chisholm with 35:26, from Michelle Burns (36:25) and Kate Aitken Resink (39:18); while Kim Maloney took out the Women 50-59 in 52:25.
The 2 mile race seemed to be over in a flash. Steve Connor even caught the timekeepers by surprise, finishing first in 11:25, about 100 metres ahead of Boys Under 17s winner, Callum Burns in 11:41; then Glen Sturesteps (Male 17 & Over) in 12:19 and Under 13s Boys first place Spencer Burns in 12:33.
Ellie DeRuyter – running the Girls Under 13s category – was too fast for all the older girls and women, streaming home in 13:21, ahead of Jessica Jeffreys who was first Female 17 & Over in 13:27; while Arabella Hamilton took out the Girls Under 17s in 18:10.
Despite the record field and considerable pressure on the timekeepers who record every mile split time for each runner in all the distances – that's 128 laps in the 2 mile race; 405 laps in the 5 mile and 1,196 laps in the Half-Marathon for a total of 1,729 laps to be recorded – all the results were collated in the end, and the last of the pancake mix consumed by the final runner across the line.


Post a Comment

<< Home